Tue, 26 May 2020

Dubai [UAE], May 14 (ANI): Six teams are set to battle it out in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup Africa Final 2019, scheduled in Uganda, with two countries just one step away from Australia 2020.

Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, and Uganda cleared the sub-regional qualifiers last year to reach the Africa Final. The teams will play a round-robin tournament from May 19 to 24.

Each team will play each other once and after the completion of 15 games, the top two in the table will go on to represent Africa at the ICC Men's T20 World Cup Qualifier in the UAE later this year -- where six teams will advance to the T20 World Cup in Australia in October 2020.

The Africa Final qualifiers will join Papua New Guinea, UAE, Hong Kong, Ireland, Netherlands, Oman, Scotland and Zimbabwe in the global qualifier which will take place between October 11 and November 3 this year. The UAE automatically qualified as hosts and PNG came through the East Asia-Pacific (EAP) Final in March.

Australia and nine other top-ranked sides -- Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Indies -- ensured direct qualification to the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2020 after finishing in the top ten of the ICC Men's T20I Team Rankings as on December 31. (ANI)

More UAE News

Access More

Sign up for UAE News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!