Tue, 18 May 2021

DFA: 31 countries lift travel restrictions for Filipinos

Philippine Information Agency
07 Jul 2020, 20:38 GMT+10

MANILA, July 6 (PIA) -- The Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA), in the updated infographics on Travel Restrictions, confirms lifting of inbound travel restrictions for Filipinos in 31 countries/territories across America, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East this week.

DFA in its Faceboook page post on July 5 confirmed that of the 177 countries/territories across the Americas, Asia and the Pacific, Europe, and Middle East/Africa included in the updated infographics on Travel Restrictions, 31 have already lifted the inbound border restrictions on Filipino travels, subject to medical protocols on arriving passengers. Additional countries who have recently opened their borders include Bahamas, Egypt, Ethiopia, and United Arab Emirates.

On the other hand, 68 countries/territories in the list still do not allow entry in their borders such as Cuba, Haiti, Palau, Timor Leste, France, and most countries in Middle East/Africa, among others.

Although despite inbound border closures, about 78 countries/territories give entry exemptions to Filipinos who are citizens of the destination country and returning residents, OFWs with work visas and contracts, diplomatic or UN passport holders going to post or on official travel.

The new update under this category is Macau SAR, with imposed medical protocols.

Moreover, the updated infographics also confirm that 138 countries now allow Filipinos to return to the Philippines, subject to flight availability and other special arrangements.

New countries which have allowed departures for the Philippines include the mentioned countries which also recently opened their inbound restrictions.

The DFA, together with its Embassies and Consulates in these countries, remains fully committed to bringing home our nationals, whenever possible.

Lastly, with the recent announcement of the Manila International Airport Authority (MIAA) of the resumption of international flight operations in NAIA Terminal 3 beginning 12:01AM of 8 July 2020, DFA reiterates that travel restrictions can change without prior public notice.

Therefore, all travelers are advised to always check ahead of travel dates with the airlines that will be used as well as with relevant Embassies or Consulates before departure or before booking a ticket.(JAMT/PIA-IDPD/with information from DFA)

More UAE News

Access More

Sign up for UAE News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!